Our Team

Interested in working with us? Learn more 

Open Positions

Undergraduate Students

Undergraduates at UC Berkeley can apply for a research position in the Schepartz Lab by filling out this application. Schepartz lab members will review these applications on a rolling basis as positions become available in the lab.

Graduate Students:

Most graduate students in our group are members of the Department of Chemistry or the Department of Molecular and Cell Biology at UC Berkeley. If you are already a graduate student at UC Berkeley and are interested in our research, please contact Alanna.  If you are an aspiring UC Berkeley graduate student, please submit your application materials via the portals associated with the two departments listed above.

Postdoctoral Scientists:

Prospective postdoctoral researchers are encouraged to submit a cover letter and complete curriculum vitae and arrange for three letters of recommendation. Postdoctoral inquiries and letters of recommendation are accepted via both e-mail and US mail.

Principal Investigator

Postdoctoral Associates

Ph.D. Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Cornell
Ph.D. Chemistry, UPenn

Graduate Students

M.S. Chemistry, National Taiwan University
Sc.B. Chemistry, Brown
B.S. Chemistry, UCLA
B.S. in Biology and B.A. in Chemistry, UNC at Chapel Hill
B.A. Molecular Biology & Biochemistry, Wesleyan
B.A. Chemistry, Columbia
B.S. Chemistry and Biochemistry, Nebraska
B.A. Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, UC Berkeley
NSF GRFP Fellowship
B.S. Chemistry, MIT
NSF GRFP Fellowship
B.S. Chemistry and B.S. Biochemistry, Minnesota
B.S. Biochemistry, UIUC
B.S. Chemistry, UPR at Cayey
B.S Chemistry, UPR at Rio Piedras
B.S. Biochemistry, Boston College
B.S. Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry, Yale

Undergraduate Students


Lab Manager and Biochemistry Coordinating Editor
Managing Director, C-GEM
Director of Education, Outreach, and Diversity, C-GEM
Faculty Support Administrator


Name Position and location
Deepto Mozumdar

Postdoctoral Fellow, UCSF (Bondy-Denomy and Agard labs)

Jonathan Tyson

Postdoctoral Fellow, Stanford University (Bertozzi, Deisseroth, and Bao labs)

Susan Knox

Research Scientist, Spark Therapeutics

Andrew Cairns

Medicinal Chemistry Trainer, Wellcome Centre for Anti-Infectives Research (WCAIR) at the University of Dundee

Aarushi Gupta

Scientist, Moderna

Omer Ad

Senior Scientist, Quantum-Si

Ling Chu

Postdoctoral Fellow, Yale University (Crews Lab)

Angela Steinauer

Postdoctoral Scientist, ETH Zurich (Hilvert Lab)

Kim Quach

Senior Life Sciences Specialist, L.E.K. Consulting

Allison Walker

Postdoctoral Scientist, Harvard Medical School (Clardy Lab)

Rebecca Wissner

Scientist, RNA & Targeted Therapeutics, The Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson & Johnson

Roman Erdmann

Senior Scientist, MRL Boston

Alexander Thompson

Project Analyst Intern, Compass Strategic Consulting

Wesley Robertson

Postdoctoral Researcher, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology

Julie Kuroda-Lanselle Sinclair
Aaron Zwicker

Process Engineer, Intel Corporation

Amy Doerner

Scientist, AbSci

Michael Melicher

Postdoctoral Fellow, Harvard University

Melissa Lowder

Consultant, Health Advances

Elizabeth Denton

Sr. Scientist, Biotage

Jonathan Miller

Equity Research Associate, Evercore ISI

Seth Alexander

Senior Scientist, Intellia Therapeutics, Inc.

Jonathan LaRochelle

Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Harvard Medical School

Pam (Shou-Ping) Wang

Scientist, Moderna Therapeutics

Jacob Appelbaum

Hematology/Oncology Fellow, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Clarissa Melo Czekster

Postdoctoral Fellow, The University of St. Andrews

Elissa Hobert

Scientist, Moderna Therapeutics

Matthew Molski

Project Leader, The Boston Consulting Group

John Chu

Postdoctoral Associate, Rockefeller University

Cody Craig

Senior Scientist, Alcon Laboratories Inc.

Daniel Fried

Assistant Professor, St. Peter’s University

Zachary Kaur

Scientist, Sanofi

Rachel Dexter

Management Analyst, National Institutes of Health

Sarmistha Ray (Saha)

Senior Biochemist, Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics

Tiffany Halo

Assistant Director, Bayer

Arjun Narayanan

Senior Principal Scientist, Pfizer Inc.

Betsy Smith

Assistant Professor, Elmira College

Arjel Bautista

Global Portfolio Benchmarking Lead, Bristol-Myers Squibb

Jessica Goodman

Director of Corporate Alliances, Harvard University

Elizabeth Harker (Scheideman)

Scientist, Vaccine Program Production Laboratory, VRC, NIH

Justin Holub

Assistant Professor, Ohio University

Jennifer Holtzman

Scientific Project Coordination Biologist III, Health Canada

Danielle Guarracino

Associate Professor, The College of New Jersey

Abby Maranda (Hodges)

Associate Professor, Mid-America Nazarene University

Rebecca Scheck

Assistant Professor, Tufts University

Name Position and location
Jade Xiaoyan Qiu

Associate Professor, Suzhou University

Jennifer Griffiths

Head of Academic Affairs, North America for Springer Nature

Joshua Kritzer

Associate Professor, Tufts University

E. James Petersson

Associate Professor, University of Pennsylvania

Kamil Woronowicz

Assistant Professor, United States Military Academy

Lori Yang

Chief Scientist Officer, Lectenz Bio

Heather Volkman

Research Scientist, Baxter Healthcare

Doug Daniels

Executive Director, University of Dayton

Olen Stephens

Chemistry and Manufacturing Controls Branch Chief, US Food and Drug Administration

Anja Gemperli (Graf)

Team Leader, Solvias AG

Scott Hart

Associate Director, Exploratory Pharmaceutical Sciences, Bristol-Myers Squibb

Nathan Luedtke

Associate Professor, University of Zurich

Stacey Rutledge (Chin)

Research Scientist II, Medimmune

Gianluca Belogi

Senior R&D Chemist, Olon SpA

Dasantila Golemi-Kotra

Associate Professor, York University

Joanne Kehlbeck

Associate Professor, Union College

Jin Kim Montclare

Director for the Convergence of Innovation and Entrepreneurship Institute, New York University

Kevin Rice

Associate Professor, Colby College

Alexis Leonard (Kays)

Independent Biotechnology Professional

Alain Martelli

Principal Scientist, Pfizer

Tanya Schneider

Associate Professor, Connecticut College

Jason Chin

Group Leader, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology

Yichin Liu

Associate Director, Genentech

Jennifer Kohler

Associate Professor, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Elke Pierron
Reena Zutshi

President and CEO, Luceome Biotechnologies

Mary Kay Hamm (Pflum)

Associate Professor, Wayne State University

Julia Cox (Sheldon)

Dean of Faculty, The Ethel Walker School

Charles Rodgers Palmer

Partner, ghSMART

Neal Zondlo

Professor, University of Delaware

Leslie Sloan

Biotech Executive, Aeglea BioTherapeutics

Steven Metallo

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies, Georgetown University

Jennifer Frederick

Executive Director, Yale Center for Teaching and Learning

Brian Linton

Associate Professor, College of the Holy Cross

Arikha Moses

Founder & Senior Executive, Galatea Surgical

Miles Fabian

Health Scientist Administrator, NIH

David Paolella

Director, Manufacturing Science and Technology, GlaxoSmithKline

Matthew Hayward

Associate Research Fellow, Pfizer Inc.

Paul Richardson

Principal Research Scientist, AbbVie

Christiane Casas

Laboratory Supervisor, Pierre Fabre

Anne Baranger

Director of Undergraduate Chemistry, UC Berkeley

Cheryl Christmas

Business Manager, Otoro Energy

Sharon Cload

VP, Molecular Discovery Technologies, Bristol-Myers Squibb

Bernard Cuenoud

Global R&D Manager, Critical Care & Surgery, Nestle Health Science